Title: Yes Minister
Genre: Sitcom
Series: 3
Episodes: 22
First Transmission: 1980-1984

This is the story of the endless battles between the Government in the form of Cabinet Minister Jim Hacker, and the Civil Service of his department run by Sir Humphrey Appleby.



*The Standard Deviation (SD) of the ratings is a measure of how much spread there is in the numbers. The median represents the middle value of the ratings

The top-rated episode differs from the mean-rated episode by 2.51 standard deviations.

The bottom-rated episode differs from the mean-rated episode by 1.09 standard deviations.


Best Episode #22

Party Games (1984) – The unexpected resignation of the PM prompts a race for the succession, and, as Party Chairman, Hacker is in a key position—and the Civil Service, now headed by Sir Humphrey, has its own agenda.

2nd Best Episode #17

The Skeleton in the Cupboard (1982) – Jim uses a costly mistake from Sir Humphrey’s past to escape chastising an efficient local council for being late with their paperwork.

3rd Best Episode #18

The Moral Dimension (1982) – Jim is forced to back down about exposing bribery used to obtain a lucrative foreign contract when Bernard allows a valuable vase from a foreign government to be undervalued so that Mrs. Hacker can keep it.

4th Best Episode #4

Big Brother (1980) – When the Government is planning to introduce a national database, Jim wants to bring in safeguards, but Sir Humphrey stalls until with some help from the opposition, Jim gets his way.

5th Best Episode #14

A Question of Loyalty (1981) – Jim and Sir Humphrey pass the buck to protect each other when they appear before a select committee investigating charges of waste in Hacker’s ministry until Jim’s higher loyalties are called upon.

Worst Episode #1

Open Government (1980) – Jim Hacker wins a seat in the election and is given a cabinet post in the new government He meets the permanent secretary for his department Sir Humphrey Appleby but Jim decides to change the way things are done in the civil service so Sir Humphrey starts a plan to stop him.



Full Episode List

Key:-Blue episodes rated above par. Brown episodes rated below par.

#1 Open Government (1980)
#2 The Official Visit (1980)
#3 The Economy Drive (1980)
#4 Big Brother (1980)
#5 The Writing on the Wall (1980)
#6 The Right to Know (1980)
#7 Jobs for the Boys (1980)
#8 The Compassionate Society (1981)
#9 Doing the Honours (1981)
#10 The Death List (1981)
#11 The Greasy Pole (1981)
#12 The Devil You Know (1981)
#13 The Quality of Life (1981)
#14 A Question of Loyalty (1981)
#15 Equal Opportunities (1982)
#16 The Challenge (1982)
#17 The Skeleton in the Cupboard (1982)
#18 The Moral Dimension (1982)
#19 The Bed of Nails (1982)
#20 The Whisky Priest (1982)
#21 The Middle-Class Rip-Off (1982)
#22 Party Games (1984)