Title: Van der Valk
Series: 5
Episodes: 32
First Transmission: 1972

Police drama series set in the beautiful location of Amsterdam, Netherlands. Dutch Detective Commissaris “Piet” Van der Valk and his colleagues investigate murders, kidnappings, and political corruption.

Best Episode

Still Waters (1992) – Van der Valk is called back from the start of his holiday to investigate a new radical group called the ‘Green Force’. He uncovers blackmail, corruption, drugs and murder.

2nd Best Episode

Wolf (1977) – The body of a young German is discovered murdered in his bed, but Van der Valk believes that there is one clue too many? Has the killer left a deliberate trail to his identity?

3rd Best Episode

In Hazard (1977) – A beautiful woman tells Van der Valk a story that he finds hard to believe. He wonders whether to play a hunch, or to let the case take its own course.

4th Best Episode

A Death by the Sea (1973) – A romantic midnight swim leaves a man unconscious and his wife missing, possibly drowned. Van der Valk is suspicious of the events and investigates.

5th Best Episode

Everybody Does It (1977) – Arlette buys a cheap but dubious bargain, landing her husband up to his neck in trouble with a crime syndicate.

Worst Episode

The Little Rascals (1991) – A group of ex hippies called by themselves the little rascals are the targets. Van der Valk investigates and worries about the young lady whose parents have been affected.


Notes & Comments

Info Updated: 2022-04-07

The data on this page is updated when any major changes occur to episode rankings (which is less common with older series), or when new episodes are added as is the case with current television series.

The overall spread in the rating distribution is equal to 2.0 rating points.

The top-rated episode, Still Waters (1992), differs from the second-rated episode, Wolf (1977), by 25 percent of the overall spread.

The bottom-rated episode, The Little Rascals (1991), differs from the second bottom-rated episode, Elected Silence (1972), by 0 percent of the overall spread.

The middle-rated episode is A Dangerous Point of View (1973).


Episode Rating Graph for Van der Valk (1972)

Full Episode List

Key:-Blue episodes rated above par. Brown episodes rated below par.

#1 One Herring’s Not Enough (1972)
#2 Destroying Angel (1972)
#3 Blue Notes (1972)
#4 Elected Silence (1972)
#5 Thicker Than Water (1972)
#6 The Adventurer (1972)
#7 A Death by the Sea (1973)
#8 A Man of No Importance (1973)
#9 A Rose from Mr. Reinhart (1973)
#10 A Dangerous Point of View (1973)
#11 Season for Love (1973)
#12 Rich Man, Poor Man (1973)
#13 The Rainbow Ends Here (1973)
#14 Enemy (1977)
#15 Accidental (1977)
#16 The Runt (1977)
#17 Wolf (1977)
#18 Man of Iron (1977)
#19 Everybody Does It (1977)
#20 Face Value (1977)
#21 Dead on Arrival (1977)
#22 The Professor (1977)
#23 In Hazard (1977)
#24 Gold Plated Delinquents (1977)
#25 Diane (1977)
#26 Doctor Hoffmann’s Children (1991)
#27 Dangerous Games (1991)
#28 A Sudden Silence (1991)
#29 The Little Rascals (1991)
#30 The Ties That Bind (1992)
#31 Proof of Life (1992)
#32 Still Waters (1992)