Title: To the Manor Born
Genre: Sitcom
Series: 3
Episodes: 21
First Transmission: 1979-1981

Audrey Forbes-Hamilton’s husband dies and she has to leave Grantleigh Manor.


Episode Rankings


*The Standard Deviation (SD) of the ratings is a measure of how much spread there is in the numbers. The median represents the middle value of the ratings

The top-rated episode differs from the mean-rated episode by 2.17 standard deviations.

The bottom-rated episode differs from the mean-rated episode by 1.79 standard deviations.


Best Episode #21

Back to the Manor (1981) – After Uncle Greville’s sudden death, Richard has to sell the Manor so he can finance the refrigeration plant. Audrey uses the money left to her in Uncle Greville’s will to buy back the Manor and then asks Richard to marry her.

2nd Best Episode #20

Connections in High Places (1981) – The stockholders of Richard’s company are trying to get thrown him off the board of directors, so Audrey asks her rich uncle to help him fight off the threat.

3rd Best Episode #19

Cosmetics (1981) – Richard tries to get Audrey to agree to pose as his wife for a weekend so that he can fend off the amorous attentions of a cosmetics businesswoman.

4th Best Episode #11

Never Be Alone (1980) – Audrey agrees to help Richard make a catalogue of his antique china collection, but then she becomes a suspect when one of the pieces goes missing.

5th Best Episode #7

A Touch of Class (1979) – Richard is chosen to star in a television commercial as the quintessential English gentleman. Audrey knows that Richard isn’t English, reveals it to the producers and lands the starring role for herself.

Worst Episode #3

Going to Church (1979) – Audrey berates Richard for failing to up to certain things as the new lord of the manor – one of them being failing to attend church at the Manor chapel on his first Sunday at Grantleigh.



Full Episode List

Key:-Blue episodes rated above par. Brown episodes rated below par.

#1 Grantleigh (1979)
#2 All New Together (1979)
#3 Going to Church (1979)
#4 Nations of Heritage (1979)
#5 The Summer Hunt Ball (1979)
#6 The Grape Vine (1979)
#7 A Touch of Class (1979)
#8 The First Noel (1979)
#9 The New Farm Manager (1980)
#10 The Spare Room (1980)
#11 Never Be Alone (1980)
#12 Tramps and Poachers (1980)
#13 The Honours List (1980)
#14 Vive Le Sport (1980)
#15 The New Scout Hut (1981)
#16 Station Closing (1981)
#17 Horses Vs. Cars (1981)
#18 Birds Vs. Bees (1981)
#19 Cosmetics (1981)
#20 Connections in High Places (1981)
#21 Back to the Manor (1981)