About the Series

Genre: US Fantasy Series
Series: 1
Episodes: 9
First Transmission: 1987-1989
Channel: TVS



Best Episode [ S1 Ep1 ]

The Soldier and Death – An honest soldier receives a ruby whistle, a comparable dance, an unbeatable deck of cards and a magic sack for being kind to three beggars. He defeats a bunch of devils by playing cards and catches them in his sack when they refuse to pay up. Years later, the last devil pays his debt by showing the Soldier a way to tell if sick people have a chance of recovering or not. After a successful career as a miracle doctor, the soldier manages to trick Death itself and trap it in his sack. From then on nobody died. But people were not meant to live forever and soon tired old…



Worst Episode [ S1 Ep2 ]

Fearnot – A young man named Fearnot sets out on a quest to learn how to shiver in fright. He meets a traveling tinker called McKay who vows to lead the boy to frightening places. Still, nothing on their path manages to put the shivers into Fearnot, no matter how frightening it gets.


Full Episode Guide

Blue episodes rated above par.
Brown episodes rated below par.

Series One

The Soldier and Death (1987)
Fearnot (1987)
The Luck Child (1987)
A Short Story (1987)
Hans My Hedgehog (1987)
The Three Ravens (1988)
Sapsorrow (1989)
The Heartless Giant (1989)
The True Bride (1989)