Title: Sorry!
Series: 7
Episodes: 42
First Transmission: 1981

A 41-year-old man is unable to leave home because he is under the thumb of his domineering mother.

Best Episode

It’s a Wonderful Life, Basically (1986) – Timothy wishes he had never been born; his wish is granted by a Fairy Godmother.

2nd Best Episode

The Rabbit and the Pussycat (1982) – The local paper prints a series of cryptic clues which, when linked together, will lead to the site where a golden rabbit has been buried, with a prize going to its finder. Timothy decides to enter the contest.

3rd Best Episode

Do You Take This Man, and His Mother? (1987) – Timothy is getting married to Jennifer. However, the next day Timothy gets locked in the house by his mother. The honeymoon is booked for a fortnight in Eastbourne but with whom will he be spending it?

4th Best Episode

Amaze Your Friends! (1981) – Timothy attends a weekend self-assertiveness course but his mother suspects that he is staying with Jennifer.

5th Best Episode

Up, Up and Away? (1988) – Timothy is all set to move into his new house. Meanwhile, Kevin attempts to get rid of an unwelcome house guest.

Worst Episode

Collapse of Small Party (1985) – While their parents are away at the Chartered Accountants Ball,Timothy, Muriel and Kevin decide to throw a party in the Lumsden household.


Notes & Comments

Info Updated: 2022-04-10

The data on this page is updated when any major changes occur to episode rankings (which is less common with older series), or when new episodes are added as is the case with current television series.

The overall spread in the rating distribution is equal to 1.8 rating points.

The top-rated episode, It’s a Wonderful Life, Basically (1986), differs from the second-rated episode, The Rabbit and the Pussycat (1982), by 16 percent of the overall spread.

The bottom-rated episode, Collapse of Small Party (1985), differs from the second bottom-rated episode, The Big Sleep (1982), by 11 percent of the overall spread.

The middle-rated episode is Every Clown Wants to Play Hamlet (1986).


Episode Rating Graph for Sorry! (1981)

Full Episode List

Key:-Blue episodes rated above par. Brown episodes rated below par.

#1 For Love or Mummy (1981)
#2 Buttons (1981)
#3 The Godfather (1981)
#4 Bachelor Seeks Anywhere (1981)
#5 Does Your Mother Know You’re Out? (1981)
#6 Curse of the Mummy (1981)
#7 Cromer or Bust (1982)
#8 Perchance to Dream (1982)
#9 Sons and Lovers (1982)
#10 Great Expectations (1982)
#11 The Next Best Man (1982)
#12 Could Do Better (1982)
#13 The Rabbit and the Pussycat (1982)
#14 You’re Going Nowhere (1982)
#15 Bottom of the Class (1982)
#16 Spellbound (1982)
#17 It Never Rained in Those Days (1982)
#18 The Big Sleep (1982)
#19 My Huckleberry Friend (1985)
#20 Move Over Mrs Lumsden (1985)
#21 One of Our Naughty Bits Is Missing (1985)
#22 Confessions of a Jobbing Gardener (1985)
#23 A Little Something Set Aside (1985)
#24 Collapse of Small Party (1985)
#25 The Primal Scene, So to Speak (1986)
#26 Every Clown Wants to Play Hamlet (1986)
#27 Bells for Uncle Barstable (1986)
#28 Natural Wastage (1986)
#29 My Family and Other Monsters (1986)
#30 It’s a Wonderful Life, Basically (1986)
#31 A Chief Inspector Calls (1987)
#32 Dream Time (1987)
#33 Amaze Your Friends! (1987)
#34 Gone, But Not Forgotten (1987)
#35 Little Foxes (1987)
#36 Do You Take This Man, and His Mother? (1987)
#37 Mothers and Brothers (1988)
#38 Every Day, in Every Way (1988)
#39 A Fool and His Money (1988)
#40 Flying Lessons (1988)
#41 Winter’s Tales (1988)
#42 Up, Up and Away? (1988)