Title: Inspector Morse
Genre: UK Crime Drama
Series: 8
Episodes: 33
First Transmission: 1987-2000

The culture-loving Inspector Morse sets out with Sergeant Lewis to solve murders.


Best Episode #15

Masonic Mysteries – Morse finds himself framed for murder by an unknown mastermind and suspended as Lewis is seconded to DCI Bottomley, who is in charge of the case. (1990)

Episode characteristics & General Consensus:
Notable for Morse being the number one suspect after he foolishly touches the murder weapon. A well-constructed complex and creepy episode although some Morse connoisseurs find it a bit daft.


Worst Episode #25

Cherubim & Seraphim – A new drug developed to combat senility is ironically being distributed to teens at all-night parties and driving some to suicide. (1992)

Episode characteristics & General Consensus:
Considered a boring and confused episode. Populated by dumb teenagers, this entry has Morse seemingly out of his depth.



Full Episode Guide

Blue episodes rated above par.
Brown episodes rated below par.

Series One

#1 The Dead of Jericho (1987) –
Anne Stavely allegedly commits suicide at her home in Jericho, although Morse is not convinced.
#2 The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn (1987) –
Morse and Lewis are led into a possible college cheating scandal after the murder of a deaf university entrance examiner.
#3 Service of All the Dead (1987) –
Members of a church start to die one by one.

Series Two

#4 The Wolvercote Tongue (1987) –
An elderly woman dies and also the medieval jewellery she was about to donate disappears.
#5 Last Seen Wearing (1988) –
Morse is assigned a cold case of a runaway teenager; he suspects that the girl has been murdered.
#6 The Settling of the Sun (1988) –
Morse has to solve the murder of a Japanese student.
#7 Last Bus to Woodstock (1988) –
A young blonde hitches a lift from a bus stop and turns up dead in a pub car park.

Series Three

#8 Ghost in the Machine (1989) –
Morse investigates the theft of some erotic art.
#9 The Last Enemy (1989) –
The headless body of an academic is found in Oxford Canal.
#10 Deceived by Flight (1989) –
Lewis goes undercover on the university cricket team to investigate a murder.
#11 The Secret of Bay 5B (1989) –
A blackmailer is found garroted in his car in a garage deck.

Series Four

#12 The Infernal Serpent (1990) –
An environmentalist professor is mugged and later dies after an attack on campus just prior to a controversial debate.
#13 The Sins of the Fathers (1990) –
The managing director and heir to a family-owned brewery in dire financial straits is found drowned in a vat of his own ale.
#14 Driven to Distraction (1990) –
Two beautiful women are stabbed to death a month apart by the same killer.
#15 Masonic Mysteries (1990) –
Morse finds himself framed for murder.

Series Five

#16 Second Time Around (1991) –
Morse links the killing of a Deputy Assistant Commissioner to an 18 years old cold case murder of an 8-year-old girl.
#17 Fat Chance (1991) –
Morse investigates the death of a young woman and connects it to a weight loss company.
#18 Who Killed Harry Field? (1991) –
Artist Harry Field is found murdered and thrown off an overpass.
#19 Greeks Bearing Gifts (1991) –
A Greek chef is murdered.
#20 Promised Land (1991) –
Morse and Lewis go to Australia to find a witness who has been in witness protection for ten years.

Series Six

#21 Dead on Time (1992) –
A respected, dying Oxford don, husband of Morse’s former fiancĂ©e, apparently shoots himself, but it seems he wasn’t capable of the act.
#22 Happy Families (1992) –
The head of a wealthy but dysfunctional family is found bludgeoned to death.
#23 The Death of the Self (1992) –
Morse and Lewis are sent to Italy to look into the suspicious death of an English woman.
#24 Absolute Conviction (1992) –
Morse and Lewis investigate the affairs of three people in prison for fraud when one of them is murdered.
#25 Cherubim and Seraphim (1992) –
A new drug to combat senility is being distributed to teens at all-night parties and driving some to suicide.

Series Seven

#26 Deadly Slumber (1993) –
The head of a medical clinic is found asphyxiated in his garage.
#27 The Day of the Devil (1993) –
A sociopathic murderer who believes in the occult escapes from prison.
#28 Twilight of the Gods (1993) –
Gwladys Probert, a world-renowned mezzo-soprano, is shot by a sniper at Oxford.

Series Eight

#29 The Way Through the Woods (1995) –
A serial killer disavows a murder on his deathbed, leading Morse to reopen the case.
#30 The Daughters of Cain (1996) –
An Oxford professor is stabbed to death at home with a weapon not yet to be stolen from a university museum.
#31 Death Is Now My Neighbour (1997) –
When the neighbour of a murdered woman is killed, Morse has a hunch that the first murder was an error.
#32 The Wench Is Dead (1998) –
In hospital with a bleeding ulcer, Morse is convinced that an 1859 murder’s resolution was a miscarriage of justice.
#33 The Remorseful Day (2000) –
An ailing Morse investigates the cold case of a nymphomaniac when persons of interest connected with it turn up dead.