Title: Inspector Lewis
Genre: UK Crime Drama
Series: 9
Episodes: 33
First Transmission: 2006-2015

Lewis is a British television detective drama and is a spin-off from Inspector Morse.  


Best Episode [ S2 Ep1 ]

And the Moonbeams Kiss the Sea – The murder of a maintenance worker at the Bodleian Library and the death of a popular Art student seem to be linked.
24 February 2008


Worst Episode [ S6 Ep3 ]

Fearful Symmetry – After a pretty graduate student moonlighting as a baby sitter is found bound on a bed and smothered, it is found that she posed for provocative bondage photos.
22 July 2012



Full Episode Guide

Blue episodes rated above par.
Brown episodes rated below par.

Series One

#1 Reputation (2006) –
Lewis and Hathaway look into the murder of an Oxford mathematics student.
#2 Whom the Gods Would Destroy (2007) –
A middle-aged Oxford graduate is found murdered. 
#3 Old School Ties (2007) –
An ex computer hacker and now celebrity and one of his student sponsors are murdered after being invited to lecture at Oxford.
#4 Expiation (2007) –
An Oxford housewife is found hanged in her home.

Series Two

#5 And the Moonbeams Kiss the Sea (2008) –
Two murders seem to be linked.
#6 Music to Die For (2008) –
Lewis investigates the garroting of an aging Oxford don.
#7 Life Born of Fire (2008) –
A suicide forces Hathaway to come to terms with ambivalence about his own sexual past.
#8 The Great and the Good (2008) –
Lewis and Hathaway investigate the drugging and rape of a schoolgirl.

Series Three

#9 The Allegory of Love (2009) –
A beautiful woman is murdered with a mirror.
#10 The Quality of Mercy (2009) –
Richard Scott is killed just before premiering The Merchant of Venice.
#11 The Point of Vanishing (2009) –
When a religious fanatic is murdered, Lewis investigates a celebrity atheist.
#12 Counter Culture Blues (2009) –
The lead singer of a 60s rock band who is believed to have committed suicide 35 years earlier suddenly materialises.

Series Four

#13 The Dead of Winter (2010) –
Murders occur in Crevecoeur Hall.
#14 Dark Matter (2010) –
An Oxford professor is found dead in the school observatory under suspicious circumstances.
#15 Your Sudden Death Question (2010) –
Murders occur at a trivia contest.
#16 Falling Darkness (2010) –
During Halloween, a woman is found dead with a stake through her heart and a garlic bulb in her mouth.

Series Five

#17 Old, Unhappy, Far Off Things (2011) –
A reunion at an Oxford college ends in tragedy when one of the alumnae is killed.
#18 Wild Justice (2011) –
The poisoning of a female black American bishop triggers a series of bizarre murders.
#19 The Mind Has Mountains (2011) –
A student dies during a residential clinical trial for a new anti-depressant.
#20 The Gift of Promise (2011) –
A retired MI5 official’s memoirs cause consternation and ultimately several murders.

Series Six

#21 The Soul of Genius (2012) –
A botanist accidentally digs up a recently buried body.
#22 Generation of Vipers (2012) –
A professor is found dead after her dating video is leaked online.
#23 Fearful Symmetry (2012) –
The murder of a babysitter throws up a number of questions for Lewis and Hathaway.
#24 The Indelible Stain (2012) –
A controversial American academic is murdered.

Series Seven

#25 Down Among the Fearful (1) (2013) –
A psychological researcher who moonlights as a clairvoyant psychic with grieving survivors is found murdered.
#26 Down Among the Fearful (2) (2013) –
Suspicion falls on fellow psychic Frank Mclean and tarot reader Justine Skinner.
#27 The Ramblin’ Boy (1) (2013) –
An embalmed body is discovered in a wooded area.
#28 The Ramblin’ Boy (2) (2013) –
The identity of the murder victim is still unknown.
#29 Intelligent Design (1) (2013) –
A college professor who killed a young girl in a drunken accident is run over by his own car after being released from prison.
#30 Intelligent Design (2) (2013) –
While Benison College is being renovated, the body of a student who disappeared 15 years earlier is found in an attic.

Series Eight

#31 Entry Wounds (1) (2014) –
Lewis enjoys retirement until he is asked to team up with his old colleague again.
#32 Entry Wounds (2) (2014) –
A tricky case bridges the worlds of neurosurgery, blood sports and animal rights.
#33 The Lions Of Nemea (1) (2014) –
An American classics student is killed.
#34 The Lions Of Nemea (2) (2014) –
The investigation yields only secrets and murky motives.
#35 Beyond Good and Evil (1) (2014) –
Lewis’s very first case that he solved is reopened for appeal and new murders are committed with the original weapon.
#36 Beyond Good and Evil (2) (2014) –
An unexpected death leads the detectives to the solution.

Series Nine

#37 One for Sorrow: Part 1 (2015) –
Lewis and Hathaway are called in to investigate the apparent death by drug overdose of student and amateur taxidermist Talika Desai.
#38 One for Sorrow: Part 2 (2015) –
Lewis’ team must delve into the worlds of social media, drugs, taxidermy, alternative art and the homeless East European community.
#39 Magnum Opus: Part 1 (2015) – A College Dean is found bludgeoned to death with a rock in a local woodland.
#40 Magnum Opus: Part 2 (2015) –
What is the guilty secret all the victims share?
#41 What Lies Tangled: Part 1 (2015) –
Oxford is torn apart when a parcel bomb explodes.
#42 What Lies Tangled: Part 2 (2015) –
Lewis is in a race against time to save his career and relationship.