Title: Doctor Who (1963)
Genre: British Sci-Fi Series
Series: Series 7-11 (Jon Pertwee)
Episodes: 24 stories
First Transmission: 1970-1974

The Third incarnation of the Doctor.


Best Story #4

Inferno – The Doctor transports himself “sideways in time” to a parallel world, where an English drilling project causes catastrophic amounts of heat and force to be unleashed when it penetrates the Earth’s crust. (1970)

Episode characteristics & General Consensus:
The first Doctor Who story that explores the idea of a parallel timeline to that of the Earth. It has one of the most intricately woven plots of the whole Who era and has a surprising ending that really delivers.


Worst Story #23

The Monster of Peladon – The engineer Eckersley and the rogue Ice Warrior, Commander Azaxyr, conspire to take over the planet and sell its minerals to Peladon’s enemies in Galaxy Five. (1974)

Episode characteristics & General Consensus:
This story is a sequel to The Curse of Peladon and suffers because of its similarity to the former. It is rather padded out over six episodes ( four episodes would have been better ) and some call it a “Monster bore.”



Full Episode Guide

Blue stories rated above par.
Brown stories rated below par.

Series Seven

#1 Spearhead from Space (1970) –
The newly regenerated Doctor is exiled to Earth in the 20th century. The Doctor has to devise a way to destroy the Autons before they kill humanity.
#2 Doctor Who and the Silurians (1970) –
The Silurians, Earth’s original inhabitants, have been awakened from their hibernation in the caves.
#3 The Ambassadors of Death (1970) –
The Doctor and UNIT are given the task of investigating the mystery of some missing astronauts.
#4 Inferno (1970) –
The Doctor transports himself to an alternate universe where project “Inferno” could cause a catastrophe.

Series Eight

#5 Terror of the Autons (1971) –
The Master arrives on Earth and forms an alliance with the Autons to conquer the planet.
#6 The Mind of Evil (1971) –
The Master creates the Keller Machine, a device that appears to rehabilitate prisoners, but instead kills them.
#7 The Claws of Axos (1971) –
The Axons land on Earth and offer a new energy source. However, that is not their real purpose.
#8 Colony in Space (1971) –
The TARDIS takes the Doctor and Jo to the desolate planet Uxarieus in the year 2472 to search for the secret file on the Doomsday Weapon.
#9 The Dæmons (1971) –
The Master awakens the demonic Azal from his spaceship under a Bronze Age burial mound.

Series Nine

#10 Day of the Daleks (1972) –
The Doctor and Jo find themselves trapped in a future world where humans are slaves and the Daleks have already invaded.
#11 The Curse of Peladon (1972) –
The Doctor and Jo make a test flight in the TARDIS and arrive on the planet Peladon.
#12 The Sea Devils (1972) –
The Doctor and Jo encounter an ancient race of amphibious creatures off the South Coast of England.
#13 The Mutants (1972) –
The Doctor and Jo find themselves on Solos in the 30th century where the natives are slowly mutating into fierce-looking creatures.
#14 The Time Monster (1972) –
The Master tries to gain control over Kronos, a creature from outside time.

Series Ten

#15 The Three Doctors (1972) –
A mysterious black hole is draining away power from the Universe and the Time Lords are threatened.
#16 Carnival of Monsters (1973) –
The Doctor and Jo take the TARDIS on a test flight and arrive on a cargo ship that is trapped inside a Miniscope – a banned peepshow of miniaturised life-forms.
#17 Frontier in Space (1973) –
What sinister force has the humans and Draconians at war?
#18 Planet of the Daleks (1973) –
The Doctor must battle invisible Daleks on the planet Spiridon.
#19 The Green Death (1973) –
When a man is found dead with his skin glowing green in an abandoned mine it’s not long before the Doctor, Jo Grant and UNIT head to Wales to investigate.

Series Eleven

#20 The Time Warrior (1973) –
A Sontaran warrior brings exciting weaponry to the Middle Ages.
#21 Invasion of the Dinosaurs (1974) –
Environmentalists plan to bring dinosaurs into the twentieth century.
#22 Death to the Daleks (1974) –
The Doctor and the Daleks are trapped by a power failure.
#23 The Monster of Peladon (1974) –
The mines of Peladon become crucial to the struggle with Galaxy 5.
#24 Planet of the Spiders (1974) –
The Doctor is pitted against terrifying spiders from the planet Metebelis Three.