Title: Butterflies
Series: 4
Episodes: 28
First Transmission: 1978

Housewife Ria feels as if life is passing her by. Being taken for granted by her butterfly collecting dentist husband doesn’t help. When she has the opportunity for an affair, she tries to decide whether she loves her husband enough to be faithful to him.

Best Episode

Christmas with the Parkinsons (1979) – The thought of cooking for Christmas frightens Ria to death. She meets Leonard again, but they have a row. Back home, her  cooking turns into a disaster.

2nd Best Episode

Cleaning Windows (1983) – The boys have the opportunity to buy a window cleaning business. Still depressed,  she goes to church for guidance. Later, she discovers that Leonard has put his diary in her car.

3rd Best Episode

Amanda (1983) – Six months have elapsed and Ria meets Leonard in the park. He says he loves her and wants to carry on with her. Ben lunches with Amanda.

4th Best Episode

Back from New York (1983) – Leonard is back from New York and Ria has received a letter from him but before she can read it she mislays it.

5th Best Episode

Pregnancy (1980) – Leonard celebrates getting his licence back. Russell announces that his girl-friend Jeanie is pregnant so they are getting married.

Worst Episode

Loose Ends (1983) – Ben resists Amanda’s advances and takes her back to the station. Ria packs her bags ready to leave but can she go through with it?


Notes & Comments

Info Updated: 2022-04-06

The data on this page is updated when any major changes occur to episode rankings (which is less common with older series), or when new episodes are added as is the case with current television series.

The overall spread in the rating distribution is equal to 1.6 rating points.

The top-rated episode, Christmas with the Parkinsons (1979), differs from the second-rated episode, Cleaning Windows (1983), by 18 percent of the overall spread.

The bottom-rated episode, Loose Ends (1983), differs from the second bottom-rated episode, Fox Hunting (1979), by 0 percent of the overall spread.

The middle-rated episode is Leaving (1979).


Episode Rating Graph for Butterflies (1979)

Full Episode List

Key:-Blue episodes rated above par. Brown episodes rated below par.

#1 When Ria Met Leonard (1978)
#2 Breaking the Silence (1978)
#3 Thinking About a Job (1978)
#4 How About Lunch? (1978)
#5 The Lovers (1978)
#6 He’ll Have to Go (1978)
#7 Leaving (1979)
#8 Fox Hunting (1979)
#9 Worrying (1979)
#10 A Dog’s Life (1979)
#11 Keeping Fit (1979)
#12 An Attractive Visitor (1979)
#13 Lunch with Leonard (1979)
#14 Christmas with the Parkinsons (1979)
#15 An Empty Cage (1980)
#16 Ruby’s Crisis (1980)
#17 Pregnancy (1980)
#18 Problems, Problems (1980)
#19 Happy Birthday, Ria (1980)
#20 Gimme Shelter (1980)
#21 Parting (1980)
#22 Back from New York (1983)
#23 Amanda (1983)
#24 Pot (1983)
#25 Cleaning Windows (1983)
#26 Calling (1983)
#27 Breaking Up (1983)
#28 Loose Ends (1983)