Title: Babylon 5
Series: 5
Episodes: 111
First Transmission: 1993

23rd century: the Earth Alliance space station Babylon 5, situated in the neutral zone, becomes a major focal point for all sorts of intrigue and conflict over the course of five years.

Best Episode

Severed Dreams (1996) – Captain Sheridan declares Babylon 5 independent due to President Clark’s escalation of the brutal repression of the people of the Earth Alliance.


2nd Best Episode

War Without End: Part Two (1996) – Babylon 4’s mission continues. Sinclair’s destiny is revealed. Sheridan gets a glimpse of what will happen to Centauri Prime. Zathras explains who the “One” is.

3rd Best Episode

Z’ha’dum (1996) – Sheridan’s presumably dead wife Anna turns up very much alive on Babylon 5. He travels with her to the Shadows’ homeworld Z’ha’dum. Kosh’s warning that he will die haunts Sheridan.

4th Best Episode

Endgame (1997) – Sheridan leads his forces to Earth in an all out battle. Marcus learns of an alien device which has the capacity to heal.

5th Best Episode

Sleeping in Light (1998) – Close to the end of his 20 year life extension, Sheridan says goodbye to all his friends and family as the Babylon 5 is prepared for decommissioning.

Worst Episode

TKO (1994) – A disgraced boxer comes to Babylon 5 to compete in an alien fighting match. Meanwhile, an old friend visits Ivanova so that she can mourn the loss of her father.


Notes & Comments

Info Updated: 2022-02-12

The data on this page is updated when any major changes occur to episode rankings (which is less common with older series), or when new episodes are added as is the case with current television series.

The overall spread in the rating distribution is equal to 3.8 rating points.

The top-rated episode, Severed Dreams (1996), differs from the second-rated episode, War Without End: Part Two (1996), by 5 percent of the overall spread.

The bottom-rated episode, TKO (1994), differs from the second bottom-rated episode, Infection (1994), by 15 percent of the overall spread.

The middle-rated episode is The Geometry of Shadows (1994).



Episode Rating Graph for Babylon 5 (1993)


Full Episode List

Key:-Blue episodes rated above par. Brown episodes rated below par.

#1 The Gathering (1993)
#2 Midnight on the Firing Line (1994)
#3 Soul Hunter (1994)
#4 Born to the Purple (1994)
#5 Infection (1994)
#6 The Parliament of Dreams (1994)
#7 Mind War (1994)
#8 The War Prayer (1994)
#9 And the Sky Full of Stars (1994)
#10 Deathwalker (1994)
#11 Believers (1994)
#12 Survivors (1994)
#13 By Any Means Necessary (1994)
#14 Signs and Portents (1994)
#15 TKO (1994)
#16 Grail (1994)
#17 Eyes (1994)
#18 Legacies (1994)
#19 A Voice in the Wilderness: Part 1 (1994)
#20 A Voice in the Wilderness: Part 2 (1994)
#21 Babylon Squared (1994)
#22 The Quality of Mercy (1994)
#23 Chrysalis (1994)
#24 Points of Departure (1994)
#25 Revelations (1994)
#26 The Geometry of Shadows (1994)
#27 A Distant Star (1994)
#28 The Long Dark (1994)
#29 Spider in the Web (1994)
#30 Soul Mates (1994)
#31 A Race Through Dark Places (1995)
#32 The Coming of Shadows (1995)
#33 GROPOS (1995)
#34 All Alone in the Night (1995)
#35 Acts of Sacrifice (1995)
#36 Hunter, Prey (1995)
#37 There All the Honor Lies (1995)
#38 And Now for a Word (1995)
#39 In the Shadow of Z’ha’dum (1995)
#40 Knives (1995)
#41 Confessions and Lamentations (1995)
#42 Divided Loyalties (1995)
#43 The Long, Twilight Struggle (1995)
#44 Comes the Inquisitor (1995)
#45 The Fall of Night (1995)
#46 Matters of Honor (1995)
#47 Convictions (1995)
#48 A Day in the Strife (1995)
#49 Passing Through Gethsemane (1995)
#50 Voices of Authority (1996)
#51 Dust to Dust (1996)
#52 Exogenesis (1996)
#53 Messages from Earth (1996)
#54 Point of No Return (1996)
#55 Severed Dreams (1996)
#56 Ceremonies of Light and Dark (1996)
#57 Sic Transit Vir (1996)
#58 A Late Delivery from Avalon (1996)
#59 Ship of Tears (1996)
#60 Interludes and Examinations (1996)
#61 War Without End: Part One (1996)
#62 War Without End: Part Two (1996)
#63 Walkabout (1996)
#64 Grey 17 Is Missing (1996)
#65 And the Rock Cried Out, No Hiding Place (1996)
#66 Shadow Dancing (1996)
#67 Z’ha’dum (1996)
#68 The Hour of the Wolf (1996)
#69 Whatever Happened to Mr. Garibaldi? (1996)
#70 The Summoning (1996)
#71 Falling Toward Apotheosis (1996)
#72 The Long Night (1997)
#73 Into the Fire (1997)
#74 Epiphanies (1997)
#75 The Illusion of Truth (1997)
#76 Atonement (1997)
#77 Racing Mars (1997)
#78 Lines of Communication (1997)
#79 Conflicts of Interest (1997)
#80 Rumors, Bargains and Lies (1997)
#81 Moments of Transition (1997)
#82 No Surrender, No Retreat (1997)
#83 Exercise of Vital Powers (1997)
#84 The Face of the Enemy (1997)
#85 Intersections in Real Time (1997)
#86 Between the Darkness and the Light (1997)
#87 Endgame (1997)
#88 Rising Star (1997)
#89 The Deconstruction of Falling Stars (1997)
#90 No Compromises (1998)
#91 The Very Long Night of Londo Mollari (1998)
#92 The Paragon of Animals (1998)
#93 A View from the Gallery (1998)
#94 Learning Curve (1998)
#95 Strange Relations (1998)
#96 Secrets of the Soul (1998)
#97 Day of the Dead (1998)
#98 In the Kingdom of the Blind (1998)
#99 A Tragedy of Telepaths (1998)
#100 Phoenix Rising (1998)
#101 The Ragged Edge (1998)
#102 The Corps Is Mother, the Corps Is Father (1998)
#103 Meditations on the Abyss (1998)
#104 Darkness Ascending (1998)
#105 And All My Dreams, Torn Asunder (1998)
#106 Movements of Fire and Shadow (1998)
#107 The Fall of Centauri Prime (1998)
#108 The Wheel of Fire (1998)
#109 Objects in Motion (1998)
#110 Objects at Rest (1998)
#111 Sleeping in Light (1998)


It started slow with a lot of build-up and stories that at first seemed to go nowhere, then in the middle of the first season and onward it started to build up it’s own mythology and do space opera at a level no other shows had done up till that point. It foreshadowed a lot of plot points and small details could be addressed three or four years later as it dared to do plot twists and shocking deaths that “Star Trek” and other science fiction shows did not dare do at that time. Stories lead into stories and there was a complex continuity worthy of a well written novel. Characters were engaging even if the acting and dialogue sometimes could be wooden especially some guest actors were exceptionally bad. The last season was also an enormous long epilogue to the first four years and with the exception of the last episode and a couple dealing with the fall of Centauri Prime it was mostly a failure on all accounts, especially the Psi War that was a disappointment to see unfold. Filler episodes were mostly useless though and some characters was not used to their potential even if they were regulars (I’m looking at you: Keffer, Na’Toth and Talia Winters), but at the end it is hard not to embrace this science fiction drama that paved way for heavy serialized series on American TV at a time when most programming leaned on episodic and stand-alone storytelling with little or no characterization. For fans of the genre it is a must even with it’s numerous faults.


Amazing series; completely broke the mould of science fiction TV. So many fantastic characters, who unusually for science fiction actually underwent character development during the course of the story arc – G’Kar and Londo especially, With an honourable mention for Bester – a classic villain in the Servalan (Blakes 7) mould. The series lost a little after the tension of the Shadows’ emergence was revealed, but even the network screwing with the schedule and messing up the plan for series 4/5 couldn’t stop B5 being a TV masterpiece. It’s hard to imagine the masterful reboot of Battlestar Galactica existing if B5 hadn’t rewritten the rules first.