Worst & Best Wire Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: US Crime Drama
Series: 5
Episodes: 60
First Transmission: 2002-2008
Channel: HBO

The Wire is an American crime drama television series created and primarily written by author and former police reporter David Simon.

The Wire introduces a different institution of the city and its relationship to law enforcement in each season while retaining characters and advancing storylines from previous seasons.

The subjects include; the illegal drug trade, the seaport system, the city government and bureaucracy, education and schools, and the print news medium.

Although receiving only average ratings during its original run, it is now widely regarded to be one of the greatest television shows of all time.


Best Episode [ S5 Ep10 ]

30 – – Carcetti maps out a damage-control scenario with the police brass in the wake of a startling revelation from Pearlman and Daniels. Their choice: clean up the mess…or hide the dirt.
9 March 2008



Worst Episode [ S2 Ep1 ]

Ebb Tide – Detective Jimmy McNulty finds the body of a woman floating in the water while carrying out his new assignment of Harbor Patrol. Major Valchek has his gift to a local parish trumped by Frank Sobotka, his rival in the local stevedores union. And on the waterfront, a shipping container destined for ‘The Greek’ bakes in the sun with perishable cargo.
1 June  2003


Full Episode Guide

Blue episodes rated above par.
Brown episodes rated below par.

Series One

The Target (2002)
The Detail (2002)
The Buys (2002) 
Old Cases (2002)
The Pager (2002)
The Wire (2002)
One Arrest (2002)
Lessons (2002)
Game Day (2002)
The Cost (2002)
The Hunt (2002)
Cleaning Up (2002)
Sentencing (2002)

Season Two

Ebb Tide (2003)
Collateral Damage (2003)
Hot Shots (2003)
Hard Cases (2003)
Undertow (2003)
All Prologue (2003)
Backwash (2003)
Duck and Cover (2003)
Stray Rounds (2003)
Storm Warnings (2003)
Bad Dreams (2003)
Port in a Storm (2003)

Season Three

Time After Time (2004)
All Due Respect (2004)
Dead Soldiers (2004)
Hamsterdam (2004)
Straight and True (2004)
Homecoming (2004)
Back Burners (2004)
Moral Midgetry (2004)
Slapstick (2004)
Reformation (2004)
Middle Ground (2004)
Mission Accomplished (2004)

Season Four

Boys of Summer (2006)
Soft Eyes (2006)
Home Room (2006)
Refugees (2006)
Alliances (2006)
Margin of Error (2006)
Unto Others (2006)
Corner Boys (2006)
Know Your Place (2006)
Misgivings (2006)
A New Day (2006)
That’s Got His Own (2006)
Final Grades (2006)

Season Five

More with Less (2008)
Unconfirmed Reports (2008)
Not for Attribution (2008)
Transitions (2008)
React Quotes (2008)
The Dickensian Aspect (2008)
Took (2008)
Clarifications (2008)
Late Editions (2008)
-30- (2008)