Worst & Best Vera Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: British Crime Series
Series: 9
Episodes: 36
First Transmission: 2011-
Channel: ITV

Vera is a British crime drama series based on novels of the same name, written by crime writer Ann Cleeves.

Vera is a nearly retired employee of the fictional ‘Northumberland & City Police’, who is obsessive about her work. Driven by her own demons, she plods along in a constantly disheveled state ( not unlike a female version of Columbo ), but has a sharp mind and, despite her prickly personality, she cares deeply about her work and comrades.

Brenda Blethyn: Vera Stanhope

Best Episode [ S9 Ep4 ]

The Seagull – The Seagull: DCI Vera Stanhope must find the connection between a skeleton discovered underneath the site of a notorious burnt-out nightclub and a present-day murder.

3 February 2019

Imdb Score [8.7]


Worst Episode [ S1 Ep1 ]

Hidden Depths – A handsome young man, a coquettish student-teacher, nothing in common between them – except that both were murdered and left with their bodies meticulously posed.

1 May 2011

Imdb Score – [7.5]


Full Episode Guide

Blue episodes rated above par.
Brown episodes rated below par.

Series One

Hidden Depths (2011) –
Two bodies are found, meticulously posed.
Telling Tales (2011) –
Vera has to solve an eleven-year-old murder and stop a killer murdering again.
The Crow Trap (2011) –
A local woman who opposed a rock quarry is found murdered.
Little Lazarus (2011) –
Vera finds herself acting as caretaker for a boy whose mother was murdered.

Series Two

The Ghost Position (2012) –
Vera reunites with her first mentor after a firebombing.
Silent Voices (2012) –
A well-respected social worker has been drowned.
A Certain Samaritan (2012) –
A young man is found dead with heroin in his blood and a stolen credit card in his wallet. 
Sandancers (2012) –
Vera doubts an Afghanistan War veteran committed suicide.

Series Three

Castles in the Air (2013) –
A young physiotherapist is brutally murdered.
Poster Child (2013) –
A surgeon is murdered and his daughters abducted and Vera must trace the killer.
Young Gods (2013) –
Vera has to investigate the death of an extreme sports enthusiast.
Prodigal Son (2013) –
Vera has to investigate the death of an ex-met officer.

Series Four

On Harbour Street (2014) –
A pensioner dies in mysterious circumstances on a commuter train.
Protected (2014) –
A brutal murder at a seaside resort unearths a 30-year-old mystery.
The Deer Hunters (2014) –
A failed novelist is gunned down on a remote Northumberland moor.
Death of a Family Man (2014) –
A businessman is found floating in the water under the Gateshead Millennium Bridge and Vera delves into his tangled life.

Series Five

Changing Tides (2015) –
Vera investigates a mysterious holiday park fire.
Old Wounds (2015) –
The remains of a teenage girl are found buried in a wood.
Muddy Waters (2015) –
Vera investigates the death of a man dredged up from a slurry pit on a remote farm.
Shadows in the Sky (2015) –
Vera investigates the death of a family man who fell from a multi-story car park.

Series Six

Dark Road (2016) –
A 56-year-old grandmother is discovered by a young girl on the wild Northumberland moors.
Tuesday’s Child (2016) –
The corpse of a local lad is found at a teenage hangout.
The Moth Catcher (2016) –
A young man is murdered in a hit-and-run incident.
The Sea Glass (2016) –
A fisherman is found tangled in the nets of a trawler.

Series Seven

Natural Selection (2017) –
Vera investigates a suspicious death on a remote island.
Dark Angel (2017) –
A young man is found face down in a river by the woods.
Broken Promise (2017) –
A student plummets to his death from a disused faculty building.
The Blanket Mire (2017) –
The body of a young woman is found buried beneath the soil.

Series Eight 

Blood and Bone (2018) –
The charred remains of a body are discovered in an abattoir incinerator.
Black Ice (2018) –
Vera is called to the scene of a violent car crash and quickly realises that the crash was not accidental and that another driver tried to kill the victim.
Home (2018) –
A woman is discovered lying dead in her backyard.
Darkwater (2018) –
A teenager is found floating in a reservoir.

Series Nine

Blind Spot (2019) –
A trainee forensic psychologist is found dead on a landfill site.
Cuckoo (2019) –
A teenage boy is found murdered far away from his home in a coastal town.
Cold River (2019) –
A beauty empire is shaken when one of three sisters is found dead in the River Tyne.
The Seagull (2019) –
Vera must find the connection between a skeleton discovered underneath the site of a burnt-out nightclub and a present-day murder.