Worst & Best Penny Dreadful Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: US Sci-Fi Series
Series: 3
Episodes: 27
First Transmission: 2014-2018
Channel: Showtime

Penny Dreadful is a British-American horror drama television series created by John Logan, who also acts as executive producer alongside Sam Mendes.

The title refers to the penny dreadfuls, a type of 19th-century British fiction publication with lurid and sensational subject matter. The series uses many public domain characters from 19th-century British and Irish Gothic fiction. They include Dorian Gray, Mina Harker, Abraham Van Helsing, John Seward, Renfield, and Count Dracula. Also included are Victor Frankenstein and his monster and Henry Jekyll.


Best Episode [ S2 Ep3 ]

The Nightcomers – Vanessa learns how to harness her powers from The Cut-Wife in a flashback.
17 May 2015




Worst Episode [ S1 Ep4 ]

Demimonde – Frankenstein consults a hematologist, Professor Abraham Van Helsing, who finds the blood contains a unique property that prevents complete coagulation. He believes it assists in the eating of blood. Frankenstein begins experimenting on Fenton, the vampire they caught and are keeping in chains. Frankenstein is also having to deal with his creature who wants him to create a female companion for him. Chandler takes Brona to the Grand Guignol theater. Gray is there, as is Vanessa, but it’s Chandler he is interested in.
1 June 2014



Full Episode Guide

Blue episodes rated above par.
Brown episodes rated below par.

Season One

Night Work (2014) –
Explorer Sir Malcolm Murray and Vanessa Ives recruit sharp-shooter Ethan Chandler and Dr Victor Frankenstein to help them search for someone.
Séance (2014) –
Renowned medium Madame Kali hosts a séance.
Resurrection (2014) –
Dr Frankenstein is confronted by his past.
Demimonde (2014) –
Vanessa becomes infatuated with Dorian Gray, and Professor Van Helsing is hired to work with Dr Frankenstein.
Closer Than Sisters (2014) –
Vanessa recalls her past and the events that led to Mina’s disappearance.
What Death Can Join Together (2014) –
Vanessa has another vision.
Possession (2014) –
Sir Malcolm, Ethan, Dr Frankenstein and Sembene try to save Vanessa.
Grand Guignol (2014) –
An empty theater is explored leading to nightmares.

Season Two

Fresh Hell (2015) –
Sir Malcolm returns to find a new evil hunting Vanessa.
Verbis Diablo (2015) –
Haunted by the witches, Vanessa seeks solace from Sir Malcolm.
The Nightcomers (2015) –
In flashback, Vanessa meets The Cut-Wife, who teaches her how to harness her powers.
Evil Spirits in Heavenly Places (2015) –
Lyle reveals that the Verbis Diablo relics tell a very dark and disturbing story.
Above the Vaulted Sky (2015) –
Vanessa and the Creature’s friendship deepens.
Glorious Horrors (2015) –
A glorious night turns to horror for Vanessa.
Little Scorpion (2015) –
Vanessa and Ethan flee to the Cut-Wife’s cottage on the lonely moors.
Memento Mori (2015) –
The Creature unleashes his rage on Frankenstein.
And Hell Itself My Only Foe (2015) –
Desperate to save Malcolm, Vanessa goes alone to battle Evelyn.
And They Were Enemies (2015) –
Vanessa has to use all of her strength to try and defeat the demon.

Season Three

The Day Tennyson Died (2016) –
Vanessa seeks help from Dr Seward to battle a new evil.
Predators Far and Near (2016) –
Evil forces follow Vanessa’s every move.
Good and Evil Braided Be (2016) –
Vanessa is confronted by a familiar face who will reveal a clue to her past.
A Blade of Grass (2016) –
Vanessa undergoes hypnosis to relive her time in the Banning Clinic.
This World Is Our Hell (2016) –
Ethan is hounded through the desert.
No Beast So Fierce (2016) –
Vanessa contacts her old friend Ferdinand Lyle for help.
Ebb Tide (2016) –
Kaetenay’s visions drive Ethan toward his destiny.
Perpetual Night (2016) –
An apocalyptic pestilence enshrouds London and Ethan comes face-to-face with the evil that seduces Vanessa.
The Blessed Dark (2016) –
Sir Malcolm and his allies battle the fiend laying claim to Vanessa.