About the Series

Genre: British Supermarionation
Series: 1
Episodes: 39
First Transmission: 1962-1963
Channel: ATV

Fireball XL5 was created by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson.

The show is set between the years 2062 and 2063 and features the missions of spaceship Fireball XL5, commanded by Colonel Steve Zodiac of the World Space Patrol. The crew includes theĀ  glamorous Doctor Venus, a doctor of space medicine; middle-aged navigator and engineer Professor Matthew Matic and co-pilot Robert, a transparent, anthropomorphic robot

Best Episode ( S1 Ep20 )

The Forbidden planet – Professor Matic and Dr Stamp are working on a space station which will monitor other planets. However, the close planet of Nutopia does not like this kind of intrusion and abducts them. It’s up to Steve, Venus and Fireball XL5 to come and rescue them.

10 March 1963

Imdb Score [8.6]



Worst Episode ( S1 Ep3 )

Drama at Space City – Steve and Venus leave Zoonie to Commander Zero’s son Jonathan while on vacation. One night, Jonathan and Zoonie go on board Fireball XL5 while the Professor is asleep and accidentally order Robert to blast off the spaceship.

7 April 1963

Imdb Score – [6.4]