About the Series

Genre: British Sci-Fi Series
Series: 12-18 ( Tom Baker )
Episodes: 41 stories ( 172 episodes )
First Transmission: 1974-1981
Channel: BBC


The Fourth Doctor is an incarnation of the Doctor (preceded by Jon Pertwee and followed by Peter Davison), the protagonist of the BBC science fiction television series Doctor Who.

Tom Baker portrays the fourth such incarnation, a whimsical and sometimes brooding individual whose enormous personal warmth is at times tempered by his capacity for righteous anger. His first appearance is in the regeneration scene in the final episode of the story, The Planet of the Spiders (1974). Peter Davison takes over from Baker in the regeneration scene in the final episode of the story, Logopolis (1981).

Tom Baker: The Doctor
Elizabeth Sladen: Sarah Jane Smith
Louise Jameson: Leela
Ian Marter: Harry Sullivan

Best Episode ( S12 Ep11-16 )

Genesis of the Daleks – The Fourth Doctor and his assistants Sarah Jane Smith and Harry Sullivan are directed by the Time Lords to the planet Skaro at the time of the Daleks’ creation to prevent them from becoming the dominant race in the universe.

8 March 1975

Imdb Score [9.2]



Worst Episode ( S15 Ep17-20 )

Underworld – The crew of an alien Minyan spaceship go on a hundred-thousand-year quest in search of a ship containing a genetic bank that would restore the Minyans’ species. The Tardis materialises on the Minyan ship.

7 January 1978

Imdb Score – [6.1]