Worst & Best Doc Martin Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: British Comedy Drama
Series: 8
Episodes: 62
First Transmission: 2004-
Channel: ITV

Doc Martin is a British television medical comedy-drama created by Dominic Minghella after the character of Doctor Martin Bamford in the 2000 comedy film, Saving Grace.

Dr Martin Ellingham, a brilliant  vascular surgeon at Imperial College London, develops haemophobia (a fear of blood), forcing him to stop practising surgery. He obtains a post as the  GP in the Cornish village of Portwenn, where he had spent childhood holidays with his Aunt Joan.

Despite his medical brilliance, Ellingham is grouchy, abrupt, and lacks social skills.  The series revolves around his interactions with the locals, and his wife Louisa.

Martin Clunes: Dr. Martin Ellingham
Caroline Catz: Louisa Glasson
Ian McNeice: Bert Large

Best Episode [ S6 Ep8 ]

Departure – Louisa decides to leave for Spain with baby James, but when Martin finds the scan of her brain, he spots a malformation and realises that she could suffer a haemorrhage if she gets on the plane. Will the doctor make it to the airport in time?

25 November 2013

Imdb Score [9.0]



Worst Episode [ S2 Ep7 ]

Out of the Woods – PC Mark Mylow plans to spend his stag night sleeping rough in the woods with Al Large but gets bitten by an adder. The doctor doesn’t have a clue where they are and his only hope lies with the area’s park ranger.

22 December 2005

Imdb Score – [7.7]



Full Episode Guide

Key:-  Blue highlighted episodes rated in the top half, brown highlighted episodes rated in the bottom half.


Season One

Going Bodmin (2004) –
Doc Martin relocates to the seaside town of Portwenn to act as the GP.
Gentlemen Prefer (2004) –
Martin’s first official day on the job may end up to be his last.
Sh*t Happens (2004) –
An epidemic of diarrhea strikes the village.
The Portwenn Effect (2004) –
Doc Martin pays a visit to the forester, who shares his shack with a giant squirrel.
Of All the Harbours in All the Towns (2004) –
An old friend of Aunt Joan’s turns up, stirring up old memories.
Haemophobia (2004) –
Rumours abound about the doctor’s ‘little problem’ with blood and Martin gets closer with Louisa.

Season Two

Old Dogs (2005) –
Doc Martin gets a new receptionist, Pauline.
In Loco (2005) –
Peter Cronk needs a place to stay when his mother goes to hospital.
Blood Is Thicker (2005) –
Martin has to deal with PC Mark Mylow’s sister Sandra, a naturopath who has returned to Portwenn selling her natural remedies.
Aromatherapy (2005) –
Local radio host Caroline Bosman seems to be developing a dependence to alcohol and prescription drugs.
Always on My Mind (2005) –
When Helen Pratt dies at home, her husband Phil blames Martin.
The Family Way (2005) –
Martin’s difficult parents come to visit from their home in Portugal.
Out of the Woods (2005) –
Mark Mylow’s stag night is an overnight camping trip in the woods, but he gets bitten by a snake.
Erotomania (2006) –
Mark Mylow’s medical check-up could mean some bumps in the road as far as his relationship is concerned.
On the Edge (2006) –
A group of birdwatchers descend on the village in search of a rare bird.

Season Three

The Apple Doesn’t Fall (2007) –
A new police constable, Joe Penhale, arrives in Portwenn but seems to have a peculiar medical condition.
Movement (2007) –
Louisa invites Martin for dinner but her plan falls apart when her new cooker doesn’t work properly.
City Slickers (2007) –
Martin and Louisa are still trying to develop their relationship, but their plan for dinner is again disrupted
The Admirer (2007) –
Martin confirms to his aunt Joan that she suffers from osteoporosis.
The Holly Bears a Prickle (2007) –
Martin and Louisa have a decent date but then he ruins it with his clumsy language.
Nowt So Queer (2007) –
Martin and Louisa’s engagement spreads throughout Portwenn.
Happily Ever After (2007) –
Martin and Louisa’s wedding day finally arrives.

Season Four

Better the Devil (2009) –

Uneasy Lies the Head (2009) –

Perish Together as Fools (2009) –

Driving Mr. McLynn (2009) –

The Departed (2009) –

Midwife Crisis (2009) –

Do Not Disturb (2009) –

The Wrong Goodbye (2009) –

Season Five

Preserve the Romance (2011) –

Dry Your Tears (2011) –

Born with a Shotgun (2011) –

Mother Knows Best (2011) –

Remember Me (2011) –

Don’t Let Go (2011) –

Cats & Sharks (2011) –

Ever After (2011) –

Season Six

Sickness and Health (2013) –

Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner? (2013) –

The Tameness of a Wolf (2013) –

Nobody Likes Me (2013) –

The Practice Around the Corner (2013) –

Hazardous Exposure (2013) –

Listen with Mother (2013) –

Departure (2013) –

Season Seven

Rescue Me (2015) –

The Shock of the New (2015) –

It’s Good to Talk (2015) –

Education, Education, Education (2015) –

Control-Alt-Delete (2015) –

Other People’s Children (2015) –

Facta Non Verba (2015) –

The Doctor Is Out (2015) –

Seven Eight

Mysterious Ways (2017) –

Sons and Lovers (2017) –

Farewell My Lovely (2017) –

Faith (2017) –

From the Mouths of Babes (2017) –

Accidental Hero (2017) –

Blade on the Feather (2017) –

All My Trials (2017) –