About the Series

Genre: British Sitcom
Series: 3
Episodes: 27
First Transmission: 1973-1974
Channel: BBC

Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads? was the colour sequel to the 1960s hit The Likely Lads starring the same two characters. A 45-minute Christmas special was aired in December 1974. It was created and written by Dick Clement and Ian La Frenais.

Set in Newcastle in north-east England, the show follows the friendship, resumed after five years apart, of Bob Ferris and Terry Collier, two working-class young men. The show’s humour flows from the tension between Terry’s firmly working-class outlook and Bob’s aspirations to join the middle class with his prissy wife, Thelma.

James Bolam: Terry Collier
Rodney Bewes: Bob Ferris
Brigit Forsyth: Thelma Ferris


Best Episode 

No Hiding place – The Lads try to avoid learning the result of an England football match, the highlights of which are to be shown that evening. Flint bets them £10 that they won’t get through the day without learning the result. After a tumultuous day, they turn the Tv on to discover that the match has been postponed due to a waterlogged pitch. Ice skating is on in its place.

20 February 1973

Imdb Score [9.0]



Worst Episode

Absent Friends – Thelma and Bob are on honeymoon in Norway but Bob has not told her that he gave Terry a key to the house. Terry makes several unsuccessful calls but finally gets through and tells Bob not to worry. In returning the call Bob learns that Terry and Thelma’s sister Susan are in the house together. Thelma is not pleased.

14 January 1974

Imdb Score – [7.7]