Worst & Best Only When I Laugh Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: UK Sitcom
Series: 4
Episodes: 29
First Transmission: 1979-1982
Channel: ITV

Only When I Laugh is a British television sitcom made by Yorkshire Television for ITV.

The sitcom deals with the antics of three patients in the ward of an NHS hospital. The title comes from the response to the question, “Does it hurt?”

James Bolam: Figgis
Peter Bowles: Glover
Christopher Strauli: Norman
Richard Wilson: Gordon Thorpe
Derrick Branche: Gupte


Best Episode ( S1 Ep3 )

The Rumour – Dr Thorpe tells Gupta that his dog, Victor, is not well but Gupta misunderstands and thinks he is talking about his son. The patients also fall prey to misunderstandings, each of them believing that they are going to die. Dr Thorpe manages to tell Figgis and Norman the truth but by this time Glover has rung up his boss to tell him exactly what he thinks of him.

12 November 1979

Imdb Score [8.2]



Worst Episode ( S2 Ep2 )

Where There’s a Will – Glover does not take kindly to eccentric new patient Joe Perkins, due to his lack of hygiene and use of his drinking tumbler for his false teeth. However, when he discovers that Joe’s tin box contains a fortune and the man is considering changing his will, Glover and Norman both fawn on him to get into his good books.

6 May 1980

Imdb Score – [5.4]


Full Episode List

Key:-  Blue highlighted episodes rated in the top half, brown highlighted episodes rated in the bottom half.


Season One

A Bed With a View (1979)

Operation Norman (1979)

The Rumour (1979)

The Man With the Face (1979)

Let Them Eat Cake (1979)

Tangled Web (1979)

Is There a Doctor in the House? (1979)


Season Two

Whatever Happened To Gloria Robbins? (1980)

Where There’s a Will (1980)

It Can Damage Your Health (1980)

The Cosmic Influence (1980)

The Visitors (1980)

The Lost Sheep (1980)

Last Tango (1980)


Season Three

A Day in the Life Of (1981)

The Right Honourable Gentleman (1981)

Adam’s Rib (1981)

Postman’s Knock (1981)

Accident (1981)

Dear Diary (1981)

These You Have Loved (1981)

Away for Christmas (1981)


Season Four

Blood Brothers (1982)

Conduct Unbecoming (1982)

All in the Mind (1982)

In Sickness and in Health (1982)

Escape (1982)

When Did You Last See Your Father? (1982)

The Reunion (1982)