Worst & Best Keeping up Appearances Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: UK Sitcom
Series: 5
Episodes: 44
First Transmission: 1990-1995
Channel: BBC

Keeping up Appearances was written by Roy Clarke.

The sitcom follows Hyacinth in her attempts to prove her social superiority and to gain the approval of those she considers upper-class. These attempts are constantly thwarted by her extended family who are decidedly lower class and whom she desperately wants to remain hidden.

It was confirmed by BBC Worldwide that Keeping Up Appearances is the corporation’s most exported television programme and has been sold nearly 1000 times to overseas broadcasters.

Patricia Routledge: Hyacinth
Judy Cornwell: Daisy
Geoffrey Hughes: Onslow
Clive Swift: Richard
Josephine Tewson: Elizabeth
Mary Millar: Rose


Best Episode ( S4 Ep8 )

Sea Fever – Hyacinth and Richard prepare for their luxury stay on the QE2. They have a disastrous start to their holiday and manage to miss boarding the ship. They finally board the ship by flying to meet it at Copenhagen, Denmark. Once aboard the ship, Hyacinth has reason to believe Onslow and Daisy are also on the luxury liner – as stowaways.

26 December 1993

Imdb Score [8.7]



Worst Episode ( S1 Ep1 )

Daddy’s Accident – Hyacinth’s “Daddy” is put into an ambulance and taken to hospital, and Hyacinth is shocked when she hears why. After visiting him, Hyacinth returns home and is visited by the electric man. Finally, Hyacinth has to fend off the amorous advances of “The Major” in his greenhouse as she picks up flowers for her latest candlelight supper.

29 October 1990

Imdb Score – [7.6]




Full Episode List

Key:-  Blue highlighted episodes rated in the top half, brown highlighted episodes rated in the bottom half.


Series One

Daddy’s Accident (1990)

The New Vicar (1990)

The Stately Home (1990)

The Charity Shop (1990)

Daisy’s Toyboy (1990)

The Christening (1990)


Series Two

A Strange Man (1991)

Driving Mrs Fortescue (1991)

The Candlelight Supper (1991)

Hyacinth Tees Off (1991)

Problems With Relatives (1991)

Onslow’s Birthday (1991)

Singing For Emmet (1991)

The Toy Store (1991)

The Three-Piece Suite (1991)

A Picnic For Daddy (1991)

The Father Christmas Suit (1991)


Series Three

Early Retirement (1992)

Iron Age Remains (1992)

Violet’s Country Cottage (1992)

How To Go On Holiday Without Really Trying (1992)

Richard’s New Hobby (1992)

The Art Exhibition (1992)

What To Wear When Yachting (1992)


Series Four

A Job For Richard (1993)

Country Retreat (1993)

A Celebrity For The Barbecue (1993)

The Commodore (1993)

Looking At Properties (1993)

Please Mind Your Head (1993)

Let There Be Light (1993)

Sea Fever (1993)

Angel Gabriel Blue (1994)


Series Five

The Old Folks’ Outing (1995)

The Mayor’s Fancy Dress Ball (1995)

Hyacinth Is Alarmed (1995)

A Riverside Picnic (1995)

Skis (1995)

The Country House Sale (1995)

The Boy Friend (1995)

A Barbecue At Violet’s (1995)

The Rolls Royce (1995)

The Hostess (1995)

The Pageant (1995)