Worst & Best Inspector Morse Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: UK Crime Drama
Series: 8
Episodes: 33
First Transmission: 1987-2000
Channel: ITV

The Time Tunnel is an American colour science-fiction TV series, created by Irwin Allen.

The show follows the adventures of scientists Tony and Doug, who have been inadvertently trapped inside the time tunnel, a top-secret experimental time machine created by the U.S. government. They travel randomly backwards and forwards in time visiting the sites of many important historical events. The tunnel’s operators frantically try to retrieve them.

A pilot for a new series was produced in 2002, but did not proceed to a series.

Reg Varney: Stan Butler
Jack Harper: Bob Grant
Stephen Lewis: Blakey
Doris Hare: Mum
Anna Karen: Olive Rudge
Michael Collins: Arthur Rudge


Best EpisodeĀ 

Masonic Mysteries – Morse finds himself framed for murder by an unknown mastermind and suspended as Lewis is seconded to DCI Bottomley, who is in charge of the case.

Worst Episode

Cherubim & Seraphim – A new drug developed to combat senility is ironically being distributed to teens at all-night parties and driving some to suicide.





Full Episode Guide

Blue episodes rated above par.
Brown episodes rated below par.

Season One

The Dead of Jericho (1987) –
Anne Stavely allegedly commits suicide at her home in Jericho, although Morse is not convinced.
The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn (1987) –
Morse and Lewis are led into a possible college cheating scandal after the murder of a deaf university entrance examiner.
Service of All the Dead (1987) –
Members of a church start to die one by one.

Season Two

The Wolvercote Tongue (1987) –
An elderly woman dies and also the medieval jewellery she was about to donate disappears.
Last Seen Wearing (1988) –
Morse is assigned a cold case of a runaway teenager; he suspects that the girl has been murdered.
The Settling of the Sun (1988) –
Morse has to solve the murder of a Japanese student.
Last Bus to Woodstock (1988) –
A young blonde hitches a lift from a bus stop and turns up dead in a pub car park.

Season Three

Ghost in the Machine (1989) –
The Last Enemy (1989) –
Deceived by Flight (1989) –
The Secret of Bay 5B (1989) –

Season Four

The Infernal Serpent (1990) –
The Sins of the Fathers (1990) –
Driven to Distraction (1990) –
Masonic Mysteries (1990) –

Series Five

Second Time Around (1991) –
Fat Chance (1991) –
Who Killed Harry Field? (1991) –
Greeks Bearing Gifts (1991) –
Promised Land (1991) –

Season Six

Dead on Time (1992) –
Happy Families (1992) –
The Death of the Self (1992) –
Absolute Conviction (1992) –
Cherubim and Seraphim (1992) –

Season Seven

Deadly Slumber (1993) –
The Day of the Devil (1993) –
Twilight of the Gods (1993) –

Season Eight

The Way Through the Woods (1995) –
A serial killer disavows a murder on his deathbed, leading Morse to reopen the case.
The Daughters of Cain (1996) –
Death Is Now My Neighbour (1997) –
When the neighbour of a murdered woman is killed, Morse has a hunch that the first murder was an error.
The Wench Is Dead (1998) –
In hospital with a bleeding ulcer, Morse is convinced that an 1859 murder’s resolution was a miscarriage of justice.
The Remorseful Day (2000) –
An ailing Morse investigates the cold case of a nymphomaniac when persons of interest connected with it turn up dead.