Worst & Best Hammer House of Mystery and Suspense (Fox Mystery Theater) Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: British/United States Horror/Mystery/Suspense series
Series: 1
Episodes: 13
First Transmission: 1984
Channel: ITV

Hammer House of Mystery and Suspense is an anthology television series produced in Britain by Hammer Studios.

The series is similar in format to the 1980 series Hammer House of Horror, but with less emphasis on horror elements. It was a co-production by Hammer Studios with 20th Century Fox Television and is known in the United States as Fox Mystery Theater.


Best Episode ( S1 Ep12 )

Child’s Play – A family awakens to find themselves trapped in their own home. All of the windows and doors are sealed by impenetrable walls. They desperately try to escape but everything fails. Then the wife notices a bizarre pattern.

8 October 1984

Imdb Score [7.3]



Worst Episode ( S1 Ep8 )

The Sweet Scent of Death – An overworked American ambassador intends to spend more time with his wife by visiting a countryside mansion. Soon, the trip turns into a nightmare with his wife haunted by a stalker from her past.

17 December 1984

Imdb Score – [5.8]



Full Episode List

Key:-  Blue highlighted episodes rated in the top half, brown highlighted episodes rated in the bottom half.


Series One

Mark of the Devil (1984)

Last Video and Testament (1984)

Child’s Play (1984)

The Corvini Inheritance (1984)

In Possession (1984)

Paint Me a Murder (1984)

A Distant Scream (1984)

Black Carrion (1984)

The Late Nancy Irving (1984)

Czech Mate (1984)

The Sweet Scent of Death (1984)

And the Wall Came Tumbling Down (1985)

Tennis Court (1985)