Worst & Best Hammer House of Horror Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: British Horror
Series: 1
Episodes: 13
First Transmission: 1980
Channel: ITV

Hammer House of Horror consists of thirteen 51-minute episodes, created by the legendary Hammer Films Production company. The stalwart of Hammer Films, Peter Cushing, appears in one episode called The Silent Scream.

Each episode features a different kind of horror, and they run the gamut from witches, werewolves and ghosts to devil-worshipping and voodoo. Some non-supernatural horror themes are also broached such as cannibalism, confinement and serial killers.

In 2003 Channel 4 placed Hammer House of Horror at No. 50 in its “100 Scariest Moments” show.


Best Episode [ S1 Ep7 ]

The Silent Scream –  Safecracker Chuck Spillers is released from prison, and immediately visits an elderly pet shop owner who visited him in prison and gave him money as he knew what it was like to be locked up. Unfortunately for Chuck, the pet shop owner is secretly a former Nazi concentration camp guard and is intent on continuing his experiments in advanced human conditioning techniques. His plan is to create prisons with no bars, for which he captures Chuck and his wife.

25 October 1980

Imdb Score [7.7]



Worst Episode [ S1 Ep4 ]

Growing Pains – After their son, William, dies, the Mortons adopt Jamie from the  Nesbit children’s home.  Soon, the Mortons are beset with a series of odd events and disasters which have a devastating effect on his adopted father’s research.  Could William Morton’s spirit be responsible for the seemingly inexplicable events unfolding in the household?

4 October 1980

Imdb Score – [5.3]



Full Episode List

Key:-  Blue highlighted episodes rated in the top half, brown highlighted episodes rated in the bottom half.


Series One

Witching Time (1980)

The Thirteenth Reunion (1980)

Rude Awakening (1980)

Growing Pains (1980)

The House that Bled to Death (1980)

Charlie Boy (1980)

The Silent Scream (1980)

Children of the Full Moon (1980)

Carpathian Eagle (1980)

Guardian of the Abyss (1980)

Visitor from the Grave (1980)

The Two Faces of Evil (1980)

The Mark of Satan (1980)