Worst & Best Are You Being Served Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: UK Sitcom
Series: 10
Episodes: 69
First Transmission: 1972-1985
Channel: BBC

Are You Being Served? was created and written by executive producer David Croft and Jeremy Lloyd.

The show follows the misadventures and mishaps of the staff of the retail ladies’ and gentlemen’s clothing departments at the London branch of a fictional chain called Grace Brothers.

In 2004, it was ranked 20th in a television countdown of Britain’s Best Sitcom.

John Inman: Mr Humphries
Mollie Sugden: Mrs Slocombe
Wendy Richard: Miss Brahms
Frank Thornton: Captain Peacock
Nicholas Smith: Mr Rumbold

Best Episode [ S1 Ep3 ]

Camping In – Due to a transport strike, the staff are forced to stay in the store overnight. Mr Rumbold makes them sleep in tents—much to their displeasure. Hilarity ensues as colleagues insist on sharing each other’s beds.

4 April 1973

Imdb Score [8.6]



Worst Episode [ S8 Ep1 ]

Is it Catching? – Mr.Goldberg and Mr Lucas are replaced by Mr Grossman and Mr Spooner, and Young Mr Grace steps down, handing over the reins to his older brother, Old Mr Grace. Mr Humphries contracts a rare disease called “Marine’s Disease”, and the entire staff has to be quarantined in the basement to prevent spreading the infection.

9 April 1981

Imdb Score – [6.7]


Full Episode Guide

Key:-  Blue highlighted episodes rated in the top half, brown highlighted episodes rated in the bottom half.



Are You Being Served? (1972) –
A store reorganisation means that the staff of the Gentlemen’s Ready-To-Wear Department have to share their floor space with the Ladies Department.

Season One

Dear Sexy Knickers (1973) –
Mr Lucas tries to send a love note to Miss Brahms, whom he addresses as “Sexy Knickers,” but it gets sent to Mrs Slocombe instead.
Our Figures Are Slipping (1973) –
Sales figures for the department are falling, and Mr Rumbold insists that the staff stay behind after the store closes to learn about sales technique.
Camping In (1973) –
Due to a transport strike, the staff is forced to stay in the store overnight.
His and Hers (1973) –
The sales staff are upset when Grace Brothers hires an attractive outside saleswoman to demonstrate a new unisex line of perfume.
Diamonds Are a Man’s Best Friend (1973) –
The staff search frantically for a diamond lost in the store by a customer who is offering a hefty reward for its return.

Season Two

The Clock (1974) –
Mr Grainger celebrates his 65th birthday, and the staff wonders whether he’ll get the traditional cuckoo clock which indicates that he is being retired.
Cold Comfort (1974) –
Due to the oil crisis, Grace Brothers’ central heating is turned off during the bitterly cold weather.
The Think Tank (1974) –
Mr Rumbold forms a “think tank” to come up with ways to increase sales in the department
Big Brother (1974) –
Shoplifting is on the increase, so Mr Rumbold decides to get CCTV installed.
Hoorah for the Holidays (1974) –
Mr Grace decides to have the whole store redecorated, so it will close for two weeks in August.

Season Three

The Hand of Fate (1975) –
Promotions are at hand and everybody hopes that fate will be kind.
Coffee Morning (1975) –
The staff revolts when their breaks are timed.
Up Captain Peacock (1975) –
Captain Peacock is rewarded for his 20 years at Grace Brothers.
Cold Store (1975) –
Everybody gets obsessed by the flu.
Wedding Bells (1975) –
Rumours abound that young Mr Grace is about to propose to Mrs Slocombe.
German Week (1975) –
The staff starts a promotion for German goods – they include lederhosen and wine.
Shoulder to Shoulder (1975) –
As the shop is being redecorated, the female assistants have to share a counter with the male assistants.
New Look (1975) –
Grace Brothers decides that it needs to change its image, so a suggestion box is set up.
Christmas Crackers (1975) –
The staff is given orders to wear fancy dress in the run-up to Christmas.

Season Four

No Sale (1976) –
Because sales are down, the management decides that they open an hour early – the staff is not happy.
Top Hat and Tails (1976) –
The staff combines to enter a ballroom dancing competition.
Forward Mr. Grainger (1976) –
Mr Grainger is promoted to manager and he becomes very unpopular.
Fire Practice (1976) –
A fire drill causes chaos in the department.
Fifty Years On (1976) –
Mrs Slocombe’s fiftieth birthday is approaching.
Oh What a Tangled Web (1976) –
Captain Peacock’s and Mr Rumbold’s secretary are reputed to be having an affair.
The Father Christmas Affair (1976) –
Grace Brothers decides to have electric Father Christmas models, but this is soon cancelled when they go wrong. 

Season Five

Mrs. Slocombe Expects (1977) –
Mr Grace decides to sell goods using psychology.
A Change Is as Good as a Rest (1977) –

Founder’s Day (1977) –

The Old Order Changes (1977) –

Take-Over (1977) –

Goodbye Mr. Grainger (1977) –

It Pays to Advertise (1977) –

Season Six

By Appointment (1978) –

The Club (1978) –

Do You Take This Man? (1978) –

Shedding the Load (1978) –

A Bliss Girl (1978) –

Happy Returns (1978) –

Season Seven

The Junior (1979) –

Strong Stuff, This Insurance (1979) –

The Apartment (1979) –

Mrs. Slocombe, Senior Person (1979) –

The Hero (1979) –

Anything You Can Do (1979) –

The Agent (1979) –

The Punch and Judy Affair (1979) –

Season Eight

Is It Catching? (1981) –

A Personal Problem (1981) –

Front Page Story (1981) –

Sit Out (1981) –

Heir Apparent (1981) –

Closed Circuit (1981) –

The Erotic Dreams of Mrs. Slocombe (1981) –

Roots? (1981) –

Season Nine

The Sweet Smell of Success (1983) –

Conduct Unbecoming (1983) –

Memories Are Made of This (1983) –

Calling All Customers (1983) –

Monkey Business (1983) –

Lost and Found (1983) –

Season Ten

Goodbye Mrs. Slocombe (1985) –

Grounds for Divorce (1985) –

The Hold Up (1985) –

Gambling Fever (1985) –

The Night Club (1985) –

Friends and Neighbours (1985) –

The Pop Star (1985) –