Worst & Best Prime Suspect Episodes/List

About the Series

Genre: Crime Drama
Series: 7
Episodes: 15 ( 7 stories )
First Transmission: 1991-2006
Channel: ITV

Prime Suspect is a British police procedural television drama series devised by Lynda La Plante.

Jane Tennison is one of the first female Detective Chief Inspectors in Greater London’s Metropolitan Police Service, who rises to the rank of Detective Superintendent. She has to confront the institutionalised sexism that still exists within the police force while solving some gruesome crimes.

Helen Mirren: DCI Jane Tennison

Best Episode [ S7 Ep1 ]

The Final Act – While dealing with her alcoholism and her father’s death, Tennison decides to solve one last case. Tony and Ruth Sturdy’s 14-year-old daughter Sallie has disappeared, but the disappearance soon becomes a murder investigation. Tennison is also forced to confront her own demons.
15 October 2006



Worst Episode [ S4 Ep2 ]

Inner Circles – Tennison, on loan to another jurisdiction, is sent in to investigate the murder of a country club manager. At first glance, it looks like a fairly obvious sex murder, but the facts suggest otherwise. As Tennison investigates, she uncovers a link to the ongoing situations within the local municipal government and uncovers a possible political scandal which proves to be much larger and darker than she anticipated.
7 May 1995


Full Episode Guide

Blue episodes rated above par.
Brown episodes rated below par.

Season One

Price to Pay ( 2 Eps ) (1991) –
A female police detective investigates a series of serial murders while dealing with sexist hostility from her male colleagues.

Season Two

Operation Nadine ( 2 Eps ) (1992) –
DCI Jane Tennison’s investigation of a racist murder is complicated with the unexpected participation of her secret lover in her detective unit.

Season Three

Keeper of Souls ( 2 Eps ) (1993) –
Detective Jane Tennison investigates a child murder and discovers a sinister link to the police.

Season Four

The Lost Child (1995) –
Jane Tennison orchestrates a search for an abducted baby.
Inner Circles (1995) –
A seemingly straightforward sex murder investigation leads to a hidden political scandal.
The Scent of Darkness (1995) –
A series of brutal sex murders similar to the pattern of Superintendent Jane Tennison’s first major case ( Price to Pay ) leads to the suggestion that she may have caught the wrong man the first time.

Season Five

Errors of Judgment ( 2 Eps ) (1996) –
Tennison, now at Manchester CID, investigates the murder of a drug dealer that she believes was committed by a local gang leader and folk hero known as “The Street”.

Season Six

The Last Witness ( 2 Eps ) (2003) –
Tennison, who is under pressure to retire, investigates the murder of a Bosnian Muslim refugee.

Season Seven

The Final Act ( 2 Eps ) (2006) –
Tennison investigates the case of a missing 14-year-old girl.